Russ sanow to be inducted into marshall baseball hall of fame

MARSHALL, Minn. – The Marshall Baseball Association (MBA) is proud to announce the latest inductee into the Marshall Baseball Hall of Fame as longtime Marshall baseball supporter and MBA board member, Russ Sanow, will be honored prior to the Marshall A’s game versus Raymond on Friday, June 30, starting at 7:30 at Legion Field.

The Marshall Baseball Hall of Fame was established in 2015 and now has 18 members.

Sanow has been involved and been a tremendous contributor to Marshall Baseball for many years. In 1996, his son made the AAU baseball team and summers at the Sanow household never looked the same. Sanow soon joined the Marshall Area Youth Baseball Association Board (MAYBA) and during his time he helped develop the baseball complex at Independence Park, and established a strong baseball program and house leagues that still exist today. Now, Sanow’s grandson plays in the league he helped to create almost 30 years ago.

Following his work on the MAYBA Board, Sanow joined the MBA Board (Marshall A’s) where he would later become secretary and gambling manager. In his various roles, Sanow has helped generate revenue and maintain sustainable financial operations for the organization. Following the death of his friend, fellow board member, and A’s hall of famer Dale Erickson, Sanow took over the gambling manager duties. When the former concession manager at Legion Field retired, Sanow took over the role, and you can still find him behind the grill every summer. He truly enjoys his time serving various baseball organizations in Marshall.

Working with fellow board members, concession stand staff, and volunteers, and meeting players, coaches, and fans, from all over the state and region has been a delight and what keeps him coming back season after season.

The Marshall Baseball Association is proud to honor Russ for his contributions to Marshall Baseball.  

Marshall Baseball Hall of Fame Members

Larry Knigge – 2015

Jerry Krause – 2015

Jim Muchlinski – 2015

Jimmy Verdeck – 2015

Lionel Bolden – 2016

Dean Champine – 2016

Mike Gort – 2016

Darrel Wiener – 2016

Pauline Wiener – 2016

Ron Halgerson – 2017

Dallas Kluksdal – 2017

Steve Verkinderen – 2017

Jim Culhane – 2018

Dale Erickson – 2018

Fred Roufs – 2019

Harry Weilage – 2019

Pat Bushard – 2022

Russ Sanow – 2023

Scroll to Top