2016 Hall of Honor Inductees

Lionel Bolden (2016) – Bolden was a long-time player for the Marshall A�s in the 1970s and 80s leading the squad to several state tournament appearances. Following his career he was an active volunteer of Marshall baseball serving in various roles. He arrived in Marshall in the early 1970s and played both football and baseball at Southwest Minnesota State. He was a two-time all-conference honoree in baseball and was inducted into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor in 1994.

Dean Champine (2016) – Champine was a dominant force for the A’s and later the Marshall Giants’for 19 years. One of the most feared pitchers in the state, Champine lead the A’s to 14 state tournament appearances in the 1970s and 80s. He was also an outstanding hitter for the A’s, playing outfield, first base and DH. In the handful of years the A’s failed to make the state tournament, Champine was drafted by other teams and pitched for them in the state tournament. Champine came to Marshall in the early 1970s, pitching two seasons at Southwest Minnesota State and was named all-conference in 1973.

Mike Gort (2016) – Mike has played a significant role in the organization of all levels of Marshall Baseball, including the A’s, the American Legion and VFW teams. Mike has been around Marshall baseball for more than 40 years, starting as a player for the A’s, before becoming manager in the late 1970s. Following his A’s career, he coached Legion baseball in Marshall and later served as co-chair of the 1989 Minnesota State Amateur Baseball Tournament hosted by Marshall. Gort was a longtime umpire in the area and was active involved with American Legion baseball serving as tournament director in many regional tournaments. He was inducted into the Minnesota American Legion State Baseball Hall of Fame in 2016.

Darrel Wiener (2016) – Darrel served the Marshall A’s in nearly every capacity during his four decades with the organization. He helped start the Marshall Baseball Association in 1972 and served as A’s manager on two separate occasions. He was an outstanding player on numerous state tournament teams and was six-time 7-75 League All-Star honoree. He has served as president of the Marshall Baseball Association and was co-chair of the 1989 Minnesota State Amateur Baseball Tournament hosted by Marshall. He was also an all-conference player at Southwest Minnesota State and was inducted into the SMSU Athletics Hall of Honor in 2007.

Pauline Wiener (2016) – Pauline was one of the most dedicated and reliable community members in the history of Marshall Baseball at all levels. She helped keep the Marshall A’s concession stand in tip-top shape and handled all the behind-the-scenes effort in running a concession stand. She made sure the volunteers knew what they were doing, grilling burgers, brats, and hotdogs, making popcorn and snow cones, serving brews and pop, selling treats to the kids and giving them money for returned foul balls, and every once in a while, you could hear her voice call out over the crowd to cheer on her Marshall A’s, Marshall Legion, or VFW team. She ran a tight ship and this concession stand was her “baby” so to speak and she poured everything into it to make it the place fans come to today.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top